I would have risen

 
 
One sweet morning I saw your
Shining smile rising through the grey
Cloud of an average day
And I was lifted and believed in you.

Twinkling eyes and such a way
To paradise through
That mere movement of your lips.
I fell wounded as a warrior proud

Laid low by such simple things.
But as time went by that smile came to be
A sinister thing that drove me
To the way of the damned.

And had I known that you were just
Some poor reflection of a poor side of me
And not the way through
That I thought you to be,

I would have risen strong and
Made the case for my life as was justified.
And I’d have risen like the sun over you
Then warmed your damp soul and calmed

Us both that we might have seen
The sad futility of our sorry conflict,
Cringing weak in the glare
Of the bright universal light
That I could have become.
 
 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

