Last view.

 
 
Actually it’s true.
It is possible to reach
A conclusion
That suicide may as well
Be the way as not.

I didn’t used to believe it.
But now I’m there,
I see that all those things
That seem so important
But simply are not.

Suddenly there appears
A way of seeing
People and the world around
That seems distinct.

A view of the world that’s
Dispassionate and apart.

Objective.

And then in seeing such,
One has to compare one’s life
With those others around

That seem so sound.

How could my life have become
As such a small token
Without consequence?

But it’s true. We’re none of us
True in any real sense.
We’re mere passing things
In a general sweep of effect.
Tiny by comparison
To the wider view.

I  always knew I was different.
And living in the world we’ve made
Means accepting certain norms
And behaving accordingly.
Whatever culture dominates.

I can’t do that.
Sorry.
 
 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by helenvalentina on February 17, 2013 - 5:24 am

    This is very well written, argued and powerful…but it makes me concerned for you so I hope you are ok.

  2. #2 by david, the author on February 17, 2013 - 9:46 am

    Hi Helen and thanks for the compliment, and also for your concern. It’s true that things are very problematic right now. But I was drunk last night (my one night a week!) and got a bit maudlin. As one does. Mind you, I’m never sure whether one’s perspective when drunk isn’t actually a clearer one than when sober. How many of history’s great artists and writers were drunkards and drug addicts?

Leave a Reply

