Love lust

 
 
I thought I wanted that, but I didn’t.. And so whole new worlds opened up. Worlds of questions. What then did I want? It wasn’t what Jill wanted. I don’t think.

Where does the line between short term desires and long term objectives occur? When do those short term desires, those real feelings that have to be categorised, acquire such prescience as to overwhelm longer term perspectives that one has chosen to adopt?

What is desire? How do we reconcile our lust, that drive that ensures genetic continuity, with our emotional needs?

What we call love is clearly a combination of biological drives and emotional needs. OK. But is the latter a component of the former? Are we really, perhaps, just driven by some chemical prerogative?

Just how valuable was that love I thought I once knew?
 
 

, ,

  1. #1 by david, the author on February 17, 2013 - 2:53 am

    I should add that this is written from an imagined perspective of a woman. I’m not gay. Just for the record. It doesn’t make any difference anyway.

Leave a Reply

