Quiet

 
 
I wanted to see and to know
And after much effort climbing up slopes of
Shock absorbing snow,

I arrived breathless at a place that was cold and still.

I turned to look behind me
And saw a long trail of footprints
That curved away through rocks
To the valley below.

After all those trials
And all that striving
And all those excuses
And all of that hurt,
Both mine and other’s.

And at the end
All there was was silence.

Crystalline quiet
That let my soul finally feel.

How the noise distracts us
From the purity and simplicity
Of what it is to be alive.

 
 

, ,

  1. #1 by Gardner's World on July 23, 2013 - 12:02 am

    Enjoyed this – it was clearly a special place that you found

    • #2 by David Kitching on July 23, 2013 - 12:17 am

      I’m glad you like it. Too be honest, I’m still on the trail, and am merely anticipating.

Leave a Reply

